Text comprehension with temporal sequencing – Volume 1

Stories and activities for children aged 6 to 8

Elisa Quintarelli

Product: Book

Trim size in cm: 21x29,7cm

Pages: 250

ISBN: 978-88-590-0927-6

Publication date: 01/09/2015

Suitable for: Primary 1st level (ages 6-7), Primary 2nd level (ages 8-10)


Understanding a text is a complex process that involves multiple skills, including: linguistic competence, attention capacity, working memory, spatial, sequential and temporal organization. The aim of this book is to strengthen these aspects, especially helping children who have difficulty knowing how to place situations and events in a logical and sequential order.

The volume presents 20 stories inspired by everyday life and arranged in order of increasing complexity. At the end of each piece there is an area dedicated to comprehension activities, in which the child:
• is asked to reconstruct the story through the sequence of events represented in images;
• must reconstruct the story by putting the various sequences in order, represented by sentences;
• must understand whether the statements regarding the story just read correspond to the truth or not;
• must complete the passage to which some words have been removed (cloze);
• must describe, first in writing then orally, each part of the story represented in the image and re-elaborate the text.

The book is complete with colour vignettes of the 20 story sequences. This cut-out material is a valuable aid to support and implement the activities.

Understanding of the text with time sequences can be used as a work book by primary school teachers and parents or as a rehabilitation tool by support teachers, speech therapists and educators who work on the recovery of comprehension difficulties and oral and written expression in children from 6 to 8 years of age.

Structure of the book

FIRST PART – Stories and comprehension exercises
At the playground
Giulia’s canary
The butterfly
Andrea’s snack
The hot soup
Mommy’s slide
Vittoria has the flu
A surprise for mommy
A hungry cat
Lies have short legs
Lucia’s birthday
A surprise party
A new friend
A morning at the market
The new bike
The hurt cat
A trip to the aquarium
The geography test
A good deed
The storm

SECOND PART – Illustrated sequences